Hot News: Alarm Magazine Premieres New Video From Have A Nice Life

Check out the brand new music video for „Dan and Tim, Reunited By Fate„, directed by Gardenback, now via Alarm Magazine.

New England’s Have A Nice Life has been a truly enigmatic band since its inception.  It’s two primary members, Dan Barrett and Tim Macuga, met while studying at UMass Amherst and began performing „oddly aggressive acoustic songs” at local coffee houses and open mics together.  After graduating, Dan and Tim kept writing and minimally released a few demo recordings that continued to sail under the radar.  Over the course of the next five years, these recordings were expanded upon and became Have A Nice Life’s debut LP, Deathconsciousness (2008), which was initially pressed on 100 CD-R’s and expected to sell pretty casually.  Over time, the album (which was accompanied by a dense, 100-page booklet) generated quite a bit of interest through online exposure and glowing fan reviews  and eventually sold out its first pressing.  Have A Nice Life kept printing copies, eventually on formal CD and vinyl formats on their own label, Enemies List, to keep up with the seemingly endless demand from an almost cult-like following.

Two years later, Have A Nice Life released an EP, Time Of Land, once again via Enemies List at their three only live shows in 2010.  The curious were able to find a scavenger hunt link in the liner notes that led one intrepid soul to uncovering an additional „hidden track” buried deep in the woods of western Massachusetts a few months later. A digital copy of the record was (and still is) made available free online.

Since 2010, Have A Nice Life has remained relatively dormant – if you count being dormant as continuously re-pressingDeathconsciousness and gearing up to release their new full-length album, The Unnatural World.  This eight-song masterpiece is Have A Nice Life’s most monumental work yet; a colossally-sounding, perfectly-orchestrated example of industrial shoegaze.  For the first time, the band has teamed up with San Francisco-based dark music label The Flenser to co-release the full-length alongside their own Enemies List, and the release is in stores now.


1. Guggenheim Wax Museum
2. Defenestration Song
3. Burial Society
4. Music Will Untune The Sky
5. Cropsey
6. Unholy Life
7. Dan and Tim, Reunited by Fate
8. Emptiness Will Eat The Witch

Kapcsolódó cikkek

Hot News: Listen To Have A Nice Life’s ‘The Unnatural World’ Now On Pitchfork Advance


Hot News: Have A Nice Life Premieres New Track on Noisey


Hot News: NPR Music Premieres New Track From Have A Nice Life


Hot News: Have A Nice Life’s New Album, ‘The Unnatural World’, Available For Pre-Order Now


Hot News: Have A Nice Life To Release New Album, ‘The Unnatural World’


Szólj hozzá!

A továbblépéshez fogadja el a sütik használatát. Elfogadom Részletek