Hot News: Blackout – NYC Psychedelic Doom Trio To Release New Full-Length

NYC psychedelic doom trio, BLACKOUT, is pleased to announce the release of their We Are Heredebut! Recorded at Vacation Island Studio with engineer/producer Rob Laakso (Diamond Nights, Swirlies, Kurt Vile), We Are Here offers up six gristly hymns of bottom heavy, head-throbbing, red-eyedawesomeness. Appropriately described as „thick, riff-led heavy psych that blends Sleep’s stoner heyday and classic Melvins stomp with a touch of Rob Crow’s vocal compression in Goblin Cock,” by The Obelisk who further commends their „riffy stoner traditionalism,” BLACKOUT is in it to win it and will undoubtedly be knocking on your door like a hairy, black clad Jehovah’s Witness who wants to smoke you out and listen to Sabbath records.

Comments the band in a collective statement: „We are really excited to get this record out. We’re not a methodical band and our biggest hope was that the record sounded like us in the jam room… heavy, slow, and drunk. So that’s exactly what we did… drank lots of beer and let Rob do his thing. The whole session was pretty blurry but we’re psyched with the results.”

We Are Here Track Listing:

1. Indian
2. Amnesia
3. Smoker
4. Columbus
5. Anchor
6. Seven

With food, beer and America at the forefront, it only makes sense guitar player/vocalist Christian Gordy and drummer Taryn Waldman would meet at Gordy’s 2011 July 4th cookout in the Bushwick neighborhood of Brooklyn, New York. Waldman, a former Hooter’s waitress turned big time commercial film editor, and Gordy, a one-legged bartender/artist/BBQ enthusiast were an oddball couple for NY’s heavily-styled metal scene. The duo began rapidly banging out monolithic snail-paced riffs that could party as much as they could crush. BLACKOUT – referring to blackout drunk, the absence of light, or a mobster hit on an entire family – was the only appropriate title for the band.

With a three-song demo recorded at the now defunct Headgear Studios in the bag, Waldman set out on the task of stalking and acquiring drum wizard Justin Sherrel for the bass position. The sound filled out and quickly grew like Chuck Berry’s mustache. Now with Sherrel’s nitty-gritty, rhythm-heavy mud beneath an electrical tide of riffs and explosions, the mighty river of sludge was primed to lurch forward.

We Are Here will be released independently on October 25, 2013. Live shows and preorder details to be announced in the coming weeks. Stay tuned.


Kapcsolódó cikkek

Hot News: Blackout – NYC Psychedelic Doom Makers Get Anchored At Pitchfork; New Track Streaming


Hot News: Blackout – New Track Streaming At The Obelisk


Szólj hozzá!

A továbblépéshez fogadja el a sütik használatát. Elfogadom Részletek