Hot News: North announced European release date for critically acclaimed “The Great Silence”

American label CAVITY RECORDS announces March 4th as the European release date for NORTH‘s The Great Silence. The Tuscon, Arizona band’s second album, NORTH‘s The Great Silence garnered widespread acclaim upon its original North American release late last summer. The album is the long-awaited follow-up to 2008’s What You Were, which was named one of 2008’s Top 40 full-lengths by Decibel. “We went through such a dark period of time, where we didn’t know if this record would ever be finished, or if the band would even continue,” said Zack Hansen (drums/electronics). Tracklisting and cover (also attached) follow below.

The quintet – which also features Matt Mutterperl (guitar), Evan Leek (bass/vocals), Kyle Hardy (vocals), and Kyle Szostec (guitar) – has solidified itself with this new release, boldly tackling life’s biggest questions on The Great Silence. Loosely based on The Fermi Paradox and the Drake Equation, NORTH‘s The Great Silence delves deep into cosmological themes. Explains Hansen bleakly, “If sentient intelligent life has arisen in other parts of the galaxy, why haven’t they tried to contact us? Maybe the human race has been blacklisted in a sense from the rest of the universe. It’s just looking at our place in the cosmos.”

This dark outlook is manifested throughout the band’s 8 new tracks on The Great Silence. A gloomy, pummeling venture into the unknown, the record is significantly darker and heavier than any of NORTH‘s previous material. Gone are the more melodic post-rock guitar lines, replaced with dense metal riffs and ambient sludge. “It’s just another natural progression of the band – we wrote what we were feeling,” says Hansen about the new material.

Formed in 2005, NORTH released their first EP, Siberia, in 2006, which was followed by the release of 2007’s instrumental EP Ruins. In 2008, they released their first full-length, What You Were, on CAVITY RECORDS to critical acclaim before undergoing a significant hiatus.

Begun in 2008, CAVITY RECORDS is an American-based record label specializing in various shades of metal, hardcore, and rock, with a special emphasis on luxurious vinyl releases. To date, CAVITY has put out releases by the likes of ROSETTA, PAULSON, YEAR OF NO LIGHT, EAGLE SCOUT, GIANTS, NANDA DEVI, SAKES ALIVE, BACCHUS, and ADAI among others.

Tracklisting for NORTH’s The Great Silence
1) Nihil Novi Sub Sole
2) Sentience
3) Inanimate Fathers
4) Origins
5) Pulse
6) Patience
7) Paradox
8) Oo Est Tout Le Monde

Kapcsolódó cikkek

Hot News: North – Arizona Post Sludge Metal Collective Reveal New Track From Upcoming EP


NORTH – The Great Silence


Szólj hozzá!

A továbblépéshez fogadja el a sütik használatát. Részletek

Sütiket használunk a tartalmak és hirdetések személyre szabásához, közösségi funkciók biztosításához, valamint weboldalforgalmunk elemzéséhez. Ezenkívül közösségi média-, hirdető- és elemező partnereinkkel megosztjuk az Ön weboldalhasználatra vonatkozó adatait, akik kombinálhatják az adatokat más olyan adatokkal, amelyeket Ön adott meg számukra vagy az Ön által használt más szolgáltatásokból gyűjtöttek. A weboldalon való böngészés folytatásával Ön hozzájárul a sütik használatához.