Hot News: Sammal premiere video from new Svart mini-album on PopMatters.com

SAMMAL premieres the video for „Tähdelle kuolemaan” on tastemaking web-portal PopMatters.com. The track hails from SAMMAL‘s forthcoming No 2, set to be released on February 14th through SVART RECORDS on LP, CD, and as a digital download. The video for SAMMAL‘s „Tähdelle kuolemaan” can be viewed in its entirety here: http://www.popmatters.com/post/178311-sammal-taehdelle-kuolemaan/.

With No 2, SAMMAL releases the follow-up to their critically acclaimed eponymous debut on SVART RECORDS. The present-day flagship of Finnish progressive rock sails back in time again to the authentic tones and warm soundscapes of the 1970s on this forthcoming EP. The band doesn’t show off with unnecessarily technical playing or super-hard song structures, but focuses on forging upbeat atmospheres with strong melodies and fresh vintage sounds. SAMMAL relies on live playing in the studio, which brings the listener closer to the band: the production breathes so care-free that you can almost touch the notes floating in the air.

No 2 is not a companion piece to the debut, nor is it a preview of the second full-length, which will be released via SVART RECORDS next winter. It is a mini-album, which stands on its own. SAMMAL wanted to clear their closet from older gems, and prepare for a new era with this release. Three of the five songs featured on the EP are old demo songs, which were re-recorded at the same session with a new track “Vankina varisten” and a cover of Aphrodite’s Child’s “Magic Mirror,” translated as “Peilin taikaa,” in the summer of 2013.

SAMMAL was founded in 2004 by guitarist Jura Salmi and vocalist Jan-Erik Kiviniemi. SAMMAL‘s eponymous debut was voted as the 9th best Finnish album of 2013 by the critics of Rumba, a renowned Finnish rock and pop magazine. The second vinyl pressing of the album will be released on the same day as the EP, February 14th. Cover and tracklisting for No 2 are as follows:

Tracklisting for SAMMAL’s No 2
1. Vankina varisten
2. Peilin taikaa
3. Tuuli kuljettaa
4. Neito maan
5. Tähdelle kuolemaan


Kapcsolódó cikkek

Hot News: Sammal announce release date for debut on Svart


Szólj hozzá!

A továbblépéshez fogadja el a sütik használatát. Elfogadom Részletek